300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Background questions

I understand that there are plenty of similar questions in this forum, but I still would like a little more specific advice for my situation.

OK, Here is a little bit about me. I am 27 years old, I have been in the US Coast Guard for the last five years, and I will be getting out in a year and a half. I have had good marks with the USCG and hold a SECRET clearance(I guess that doesn't matter much). I want to become a police officer when I get out but I have some background issues from before I joined the USCG. I understand that none of these issues, individually would DQ me, but put together it just paints a not so pretty picture.

1. When I was 17 I got a DUI.
    2. When I was 22 I got a open container ticket and I failed to appear to my court date(I later went to my local PD and turned myself in and paid a fine to the court).
    3. I have 2 moving (other than my DUI) tickets on my driving record, speeding (age 19) and unsafe turn (age 21).
    4. My job history before the USCG was sketchy at best, I have had a total of three jobs with gaps in my employment (being a loser at home) and I was fired for being late from the last job that I had.
    5. My only drug use was pre 18th birthday and was weed and I smoked it 10-20 times in my four years of high school.

I do have some good things going for me. I am still active duty and I am also taking college classes. I have about 70 units and I am shooting for a BA in CJ. I got married three years ago and have even purchased a house. In addition, my credit is really good. I have done limited LE with the USCG, mostly handling bales of cocain and Marijuana and loading them into our evidence lockers. I have never been late to work the five years I have been in the USCG.