Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can a United States Marine join... But wait...

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can a United States Marine join... But wait...

I am a 21 (will be 23 by the time my USMC contract expires) I am obviously in amazing shape and have a ton of training both combat and garrison. I have a successful combat deployment under my belt and also had one of the hardest jobs in my platoon and am just all around motivated (Numerous medals, ribbons, awards and recognitions.) But the marine corps did not satisfy my burning desire to protect and serve as I thought it would. I have realized that my number one goal is to be a police officer, specifically one in Maricopa County AZ (More specifically East valley) But I am willing to cut my losses and even be a cop here where I am stationed (Oceanside/Carlsbad/Vista CA area.)

BUT HERE IS THE CATCH: I have a pretty embarrassing past with drug use. Before I joined the USMC when I was around 16 through 18 I used Marijuana HEAVILY and experimented with others such as cocaine 1 time, mushrooms 1 time, and various prescription medicines a few. This caused me to every now and then help friends out get drugs on an extremely small scale, selling them cuts of what I had every now and then(More of a favor not a sale like I'd get 5 bucks just to break off a little weed I had) But it's all in my past and I have NO DESIRE for drugs anymore! I quit all drug association almost a year before I enlisted and obviously I haven't touched them since. (EXCEPT some prescribed meds when I returned from my combat deployment in Afghanistan.)

So bottom line I am afraid I can never be a police officer because of my past (which will be a total of 5 years when I am done with the marines...) Do I still have a chance? I really am worried that all hope is lost.