300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• credit card question?

Hi fellow officer's I just had a quick question.

I am a student and never applied for a credit card nor do I have credit, my question is will that affect me in any way when I apply to a L.E. position, also I do have a debit card if that changes anything?
    Thank you!

The short answer is no. Departments are concerned with how you're handling your debts. Use your debit card properly and there should be no issues. At some point in the future, you'll probably want to establish some credit. Provided you use it responsibly and live up to your obligations,credit should be no problem.

Comment

Unlike when you are applying for credit (to buy a house) where you NEED a credit history, the lack of credit history isn't a bad thing in LE applications.

PhilipCal is correct about handling your finances is the big thing. If you can make it without credit ---that is just fine.
      Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

Get a credit card and use it for things like gas and groceries, put the money aside for it and pay it off each billing cycle and that will help you build good credit. But be forewarned not to get into the mindset of "it's only $$ and i want it and if i make payments on it i can have it now and in five months it will be paid off" that will get you into credit card debt and be a booboo on your report.
        Ignore List : Bearcat357, Blackavar

Comment

Yep. Just as everyone has said. For LE purposes, not having credit is no issue at all, only having BAD credit.

-V

Comment

BTW, you are a student, not a fellow officer.

Comment

Originally posted by crixus View Post