300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To major in Criminal Justice or too not major in it? Please help LEO'S

I am facing a tough decision ( to me it is ), I am in college and currently wrapping up my freshman year. Right now, I am majoring in criminal justice but after hearing officers tell me to major in something else so you have something to fall back on and now I am seriously thinking that. I have always wanted to be a police officer, was a police explorer and I am determined to become one.

Long story short, my ultimate goal is to be a police officer then down the road be with a federal agency like DEA, US Marshals or something along those lines.

Do you think I should major in Criminal Justice or something else? I have thought about majoring in education but I do not have any where near as much interest that I do in criminal justice/law enforcement. I practically have a minor right now in C.J. but I also do not want to jeopardize any future internships with a federal agency because I am not a C.J. major

Also, I should tell you that I plan on attending a police academy to receive my OPOTA ( Ohio ) to become a police officer

What would you do if you were in my shoes?

Thank you and Stay safe
    Last edited by apdexplorer08; 04-25-2011, 11:23 PM.

I can't speak specifically for the Feds, but I know in local law enforcement, CJ isn't worth two beans when you apply to an agency. Not to say they will discount your degree, but it won't carry anymore weight than a degree in English, Biology, Math, ect. So it's a wash, good you have a degree, but it's not exactly getting you bonus points. Catch my drift.

Unless you are really interested in CJ, I would say skip it. Instead, focus on things like computer science, foreign languages or accounting. Skills like that will make you more marketable to any agency, especially the feds

Comment

This has been discussed on O.com several times before...