300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• USMS (CSCEP), Graduating College, Looking For Input On Best Solution

I'm graduating this may with a bachelor's in criminal justice from a state university in Illinois. I've applied for the CSCEP with the Marshals Service and passed the medical and background, but since the budget freeze they aren't able to hire interns. To salvage this opportunity I am contemplating postponing my degree certification and still be in the running for the internship, (but no word on how long that will take). I've also applied to police departments, county jail, and TSA, I'm looking for input on what the best solution would be in order to become a deputy US Marshal as it is an incredibly important decision I'm about to make. Do I work as a part-time TSO at the airport and postpone my degree? Or should I graduate next month and try to get a job as a full time police officer and then apply under FCIP (whenever vacancies become open) ?

Originally posted by mmagnu2 View Post
    I'm graduating this may with a bachelor's in criminal justice from a state university in Illinois. I've applied for the CSCEP with the Marshals Service and passed the medical and background, but since the budget freeze they aren't able to hire interns. To salvage this opportunity I am contemplating postponing my degree certification and still be in the running for the internship, (but no word on how long that will take). I've also applied to police departments, county jail, and TSA, I'm looking for input on what the best solution would be in order to become a deputy US Marshal as it is an incredibly important decision I'm about to make. Do I work as a part-time TSO at the airport and postpone my degree? Or should I graduate next month and try to get a job as a full time police officer and then apply under FCIP (whenever vacancies become open) ?