Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Questions about Informants (I'm a novel writer)

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about Informants (I'm a novel writer)

Dear Awesome-Person-That-Answers-My-Questions,

Since I know next to zero about police work (despite my dad having been a deputy when I was a kid), I hope someone can answer my questions. I also sincerely hope that I'm not posting inappropriately.

I’m writing a novel (my first actually) and in it I have a vice cop (A Denver one!). What I need to know is about paid informants (well, if there is such a thing). I guess I’ll just list my questions so you can, hopefully, answer them easily without me taking up too much of your time. Let me also thank you in advance! (and beg a little too. Please be able to answer! LOL).

I guess where this comes from mainly is The Shield and how he the main character had a paid informant. That’d work really well for my novel, I just don’t know if it’s realistic.

1) Is there such a thing as a paid informant who has to produce a certain amount of leads? (I mean get paid on a regular basis for good information as opposed to percentages of busts?) More specifically, are there paid informants who are not offering leads based on getting sentence reduction? (i.e. do they volunteer information?)
    2) Do these informants get put into the system under a special code so if they’re arrested, injured or killed the officer in charge of them gets notified? (And if so how does that remain confidential? A special computer ding? An internal memo sent to the cop? etc)
    3) And last question, who would handle the murder of that informant? Randomly assigned detectives on rotation? Or the police officer in charge of that informant?