300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being mentally prepared

Hello Officers, I have a question regarding mental focus and mindset. I'm currently an intern for a PD in Ohio. It's been an incredible experience so far and I'm counting down the days to starting academy in the fall. Throughout my internship, I've noticed how often officers have to go from 0-100-0mph (literally and figuratively) during a shift. We'll be sitting/patrolling for two hours, then driving code 3 to a call, then helping someone with a lockout. How do you prepare to handle the vastly varying range of emotional, physical and mental stresses you face during a 8-12 hour shift? Thanks so much for taking the time to respond.

I just started reading “On Combat” by Lt. Col. Dave Grossman. Are there any other books or practices you would recommend, on how to prepare for the right kind of mindset?
    R.I.P. #2083, You will never be forgotten.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God. Matt. 5:9

Inmates seem really into counting the number of officers it took to take them down. If only their love of math had blossomed earlier.

Your training and experience will go a long ways in mentally preparing you for what happens on a daily basis.
    Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important

My new word for the day is FOCUS, when someone irritates you tell them to FOCUS

Comment

^^^this.

When you do become a cop, and even before, start playing the "what if" game. When your just doing "routine" patrol start thinking about how you would handle certain situations. That way, when you do have to go from "directed patrol" to code 3 it is not a big shock to your system.

The best way to handle the adrenaline dumps when responding to calls is to tell yourself one thing "it is not MY emergency."

Comment