Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Software engineer going to police academy, interesting situation

Hi.

I am a full time software engineer with a secret clearance wanting to start going to police academy part time.

Several colleges around my town offers Tuesday-Thursday 5:30-10:30 and Sat 6-5 classes.

My question is has anyone done this or anyone knows anyone that has done this? My ex-gf's dad has accomplished this years ago and said it was pretty harsh.

I understand that this will take a toll on my social life but being on the force and helping the community is always something I wanted to do.

Although I have a secret clearance, I was convicted a wet reckless driving and had one speeding ticket, will this fail my entrance to the police academy?(3 years ago)

Any thoughts or advice is greatly appreciated.

Originally posted by zaqweewqaz View Post
    Hi.

I am a full time software engineer with a secret clearance wanting to start going to police academy part time.

Several colleges around my town offers Tuesday-Thursday 5:30-10:30 and Sat 6-5 classes.

My question is has anyone done this or anyone knows anyone that has done this? My ex-gf's dad has accomplished this years ago and said it was pretty harsh.

I understand that this will take a toll on my social life but being on the force and helping the community is always something I wanted to do.

Although I have a secret clearance, I was convicted a wet reckless driving and had one speeding ticket, will this fail my entrance to the police academy?(3 years ago)

Any conviction on your record is definitely not going to help, I can assure you that. Reckless driving at that; it's looked at as being irresponsible and they will hold your feet to the fire on that.