300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which Job Would Be More Prevalent?

Greetings all, I come to you for advice on something. Currently I work as a "security guard" at John Deere and I will be putting in my two weeks soon to attend an internship in D.C. this summer. I put quotes around "security guard" because it's a joke, as many of you would have guessed. I sit at a computer, watch people come in/out, issue them badges, take in absentee calls and walk around once a night for 45 minutes. I can obviously fancy a little bit of the job up to be relevant to LEO on a resume but really not much of it.

When I come back from my internship I will be starting my third year of college and will be at a new 4-year university - I'll have to find another job again. They have student jobs available with the campus police force that has about 15 sworn officers. They offier positions including Student Patrol, Dispatcher and a position that gives parking tickets I believe. The ticket position and dispatcher are pretty obvious, and here's a description of student patrol - i've bolded some of the more important descriptive parts.

The Student Patrol program began in 1990 and currently consists of fifteen student patrol members who serve the students, faculty, staff, and visitors to the UNI campus. UNI students involved in the program represent a variety of majors, including freshman through senior classifications.

Student Patrol is one of the most recognizable elements of the Department of Public Safety at UNI. They can be easily identified by their silver jackets and navy polo shirts. While a majority of assignments are walking patrol beats, the Student Patrol regularly uses golf carts and vans for certain tasks.