300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Master's Degree an Advantage?

Hi, I just had a general education question. In case there are some hiring personnel on the forum that could answer, I figured I'd ask. There was a forum made about 8 years ago about a similar topic, but it wasn't really about a master's being an extra qualification for being hired or promoted.

My question is basically just if having a Master's degree will help me get hired on to a department, and if I can get on, if it will help me advance up in that department. I have a Bachelor's degree in chemistry, and will have my Master's in chemistry in May. Even though it isn't a criminal justice degree, I hope that it helps.

I have been testing at departments, and did very well on the written test for the department I really would like to work for, plus I have an uncle who is a deputy of 23 years on the department which I hear is a plus.

Thanks for any input anyone has to offer in advance. I respect you all; you do a great job out there on the streets.
    Don't break your arm patting yourself on the back.

Yes it will help.

In LE, common sense is more important than a degree. However, in this day and age a degree is required for most agencies. Having a degree will NEVER hurt you, but doesn't mean that you're a guarantee either. It will probably help with a promotion at some point in your career.

A Criminal Justice degree is equal to a Chemistry degree when you're talking about the application process to get into a department. Assuming you're going into patrol and not forensics or something... as long as you have a degree no one will care what it's in.

Comment

Thanks Michigan. Yes, I am talking about patrol, not forensics. I get a lot of weird looks for that from other people in my chemistry program now, but I can't see doing chemistry forever.
      Don't break your arm patting yourself on the back.

Comment

MR300x250 Tablet

Collapse

What's Going On

Collapse