300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Community Service Officer (CSO) position opinion

I was hoping someone may have some better knowledge on the Community Service Officer position than me. The position I am applying for currently is paid unlike other departments where this position is unpaid. I am currently in the testing process for a bunch of departments around the area and figured the CSO position would be a great way to get my foot in the door and maybe have a better chance receiving a job with that specific department. Basically the position is explained on the website as sort of a supplemental patrol job to help relieve some of the duties from regular patrol officers.

My questions:
    1) What are your opinions relating to the CSO position?
    2) Do you think this will help when a position in patrol opens up?

Also, sort of a random question from which I am just curious. I have been an intern with the Office of Inspector General and have worked with the FBI, all unpaid intern work. I have received letter's of recommondation from both Special Agents in Charge of both agencies and am wondering whether or not to attach them to applications when I turn them in, even though they do not ask. Is there any negative attachment that goes along with doing this? I figure it can't hurt.

Thanks for any help!
    Last edited by mpb226; 03-12-2011, 10:23 AM.

Paid CSO positions are becoming more prevalent in the era of "Doing more with less"

Departments are trying to move jobs that really don't need a sworn officer to a civilian (CSO) position. Many are taking phone in reports, doing some basic traffic direction, and entering data into the computer. Some CSO's are even doing MORE, but that is dependent on the department rules.