Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Depression in LE

Hi guys -

I will get right to the point. I am a reserve officer of 6 years and I have been depressed for several months. I am scared to death to have anyone in my department find out. So I keep it a secrect.

But I know I need help. I do go to therapy. I don't have family and my closest friend is also a cop so I don't tell him much about what I am going through.

I want to see if meds will help but am scared my department would find out and possibly ruin my reserve career and any chances of going full time if I decide to go that route. I have lost everyone in my family due to death and divorce. And I feel completely alone and spend most of my time alone. My relationship with my department is the most important part of my life so I don’t want to mess it up.

What do you guys think? Should I get meds?

Whether or not you take one or more of the meds commonly used for depression is something only you can decide.

As far as your department (or others) finding out, you need to ask the doc you are seeing what their level of confidentiality is......flat out ask them what will make them 'break' confidentiality.

Here in CA, the only things that they will do that for is: threat to self; imminent threat to others; and the 'mandated reporting' issues (child abuse, elder abuse ect)....thats it.....they wont even tell your agency if you are going there for therapy; they wont even acknowledge that you are or are not a patient ect....doing so would risk their license, and not only a massive civil suit, but even the possibility of criminal charges.

Feel free to PM me if you want more info.
    The posts on this forum by this poster are of his personal opinion, and his personal opinion alone

"Politicians are like diapers. They need to be changed often and for the same reason"