300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stopping a Diabetic

About two weeks ago on a Saturday night, I was coming home from another town, late at night. A trooper coming in the other direction flips a U-turn and starts coming my way. I am in the left lane, so I move to the right so he can go by, I figured he had somewhere to go and I wanted to get out of his way. When I changed lanes, I forgot to signal and he nails me. I pull in a parking lot and the trooper asks for my DL, I open my wallet to get it and the trooper sees the loaded capped syringe I keep in my wallet next to my check writing pen . It fits in there nicely and I don't have to worry about it rolling around in my purse.

The trooper starts yelling at me to close my wallet, throw it out the window, he kicks it away with his foot, draws his gun and orders me out of the car. Seriously, I am about to pee my pants. I am a 43yr old school teacher with Type 1 diabetes. I carry syringes with me everywhere, but usually not my insulin since it needs to stay cold. I usually load a syringe if I am going out in case I need a shot. The trooper put on his gloves, opened my wallet, dumped the loaded syringe on the ground and asked "What the hell is that?" I told him I am a diabetic and that is my insulin. He didn't believe me. He is rolling this syringe around on the ground with his foot and all I can think is, when this is all over, I am going to really need that shot.