300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• College and afterward

Hello everyone. I am currently a student studying computer engineering and I have a problem. I enjoy working with computers and would like to eventually hold a job working with them. However, I have a strong urge to try and go to the academy after college and see if becoming a police officer is a possibility. My father was a police officer so I grew up around law enforcement and it really stuck with me. My problem is that my father wants me to go to college and do something with my degree, and I am afraid that he will not accept me wanting to become a police officer. Not that there is anything wrong with it, he just wants me to go to college and get a good job (I will be the first to graduate, hopefully). Now I know it's my life and all of that but I would be lying if I said I don't care if my dad approves of my career choice. Have any officers out there gone to college for something completely unrelated and still were able to succeed in their careers or dealt with a similar problem? I would also like to apologize if this post sounds whiny. I am pretty much lost on what to do.

Thank you for your time and for your service.

You need to live your own life....................Most parents will support you in doing what is in your heart.

Your father has his reasons for not wanting you to become a police officer. That is on him,.

Yes If you would take some time-------use the search feature------------and read some of the posts on this subject in this forum you will find that many officers here have degrees in diverse regimens. Many have had other careers and used the experiences learned there to become police officers.

A computer degree would be just as good as any-other degree
    Since some people need to be told by notes in crayon .......Don't PM me with without prior permission. If you can't discuss the situation in the open forum ----it must not be that important