Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Story Research

Dear forum LEO's,

I'm posting a thread here because it seems unusual to post anywhere else.

I'm a writer and aspiring comic artist in Denver, CO. As well as a bit of a sociologist.

To provide a bit of background, I have chosen to write a story about a police officer. This being because of my history with them, how they've helped me and my brief experience in seeing how they cope with their job. To me they're strong and interesting. I wanted to be in the police force as a kid (when you were asked what you wanted to be as you grew up) and as I grew up, I stuck to my talent instead, which was in the media arts.

As an adult, I planned for the last six years to gather realistic information about the occupation and haven't been able to gather much yet. This being because they were unresponsive to my questions, finding them silly. Or, they just never emailed me back. I attempted to just have a notepad with me as I approached a police officer on duty, just guarding the doors at King Soopers, and they looked at me like I was a bit off my rocker.

I haven't given up hope on getting information, but now it's gotten to where I need to be fleshing out my story in a more elaborate sense. This part needs to be extremely accurate where it needs to and exaggerated (because it is fiction) where it needs to.

If this isn't breaking any barriers by coming onto a forum for information as a writer, I apologize. A friend of mine reccomended me here since when he went to a police station and asked for information for a character he was writing, he was accused as a suspect for a recent case.

If anyone would be capable of answering my questions, I'd be delighted to post them after the ok.

King Soopers......haven't been in one in years. PM if you want.
    Judge me by the enemies I have made----Unknown

Comment