Leaderboard Tablet


Leaderboard Mobile



No announcement yet.

What's your Dept. policy on


300x250 Mobile

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • What's your Dept. policy on

    what to do with a violator who has no proof of insurance? With a fairly large illegal immigrant community, I get this quite a lot. Also, I often stop vehicles with tags expired for 6 months or more (I had one that was almost three years expired not too long ago) all the time!
    My personal policy is that if it's over a year expired and you can't provide proof of insurance, you're car is going to be impounded. Our department doesn't really address the issue.

  • #2
    Per my agency's policies/ordinances, it's a $100 fine. Tennessee had NO laws governing this issue until last January. We didn't start enforcing it until last April.


    • #3
      Is the question.....what do you do if they don't have proof of insurance at the time you stop them??

      In PA.....they have (5) days to provide proof of insurance.......provided they have insurance. If their insurance is cancelled or dropped the insurance companies inform PENN DOT (Pennsylvania Dept of Tranportation) and their license plate will be suspended. If that happens,....then its "sign here please".

      Expired tags.........vehicle gets towed, and "sign here please".


      • #4
        We allow 72 hours to provide proof of insurance. If it is an American and they fail to provide proof within three days their driving privileges are revoked for six months. If they are not American, say a German national working on base, they are denied driving privileges on base and we report them to German authorities.


        • #5
          16028(a) of the California Vehicle Code requires that every driver of a motor vehicle present valid proof of insurance at the scene of a collision, or upon demand by a peace officer if pulled over for another violation.

          If they cannot provide proof of valid insurance, the most we can do is issue a citation. There is no "grace period", but if the violator can show in court that they indeed had a valid policy in effect at the time of the stop, most judges will dismiss the charge.

          CA peace officers are not allowed to impound a motor vehicle for lack of insurance. We can impound though if the registration is over 6 months expired.

          A few years ago the base fine for not having valid insurance was $500. Add to that the whopping 170% "Penalty Assessment" (basically a tax on traffic fines) and the actual fine was $1350 [Eek!] [Eek!] [Eek!] Then all the liberals began complaining about how it unfairly targeted the poor, immigrants, etc., so the State Legislature lowered the fine considerably. Even before that happened some judges decided to lower, or even waive, the fine on their own.

          Now I hear it's even better. Starting in 2007 drivers who reside in the County of Los Angeles, and the City and County of San Francisco, are NOT required to present proof of auto insurance at all

          [ 01-11-2003, 11:06 AM: Message edited by: Sig220Man ]


          • #6
            We write them a ticket, tell them if they have insurance to show it to the court by the court date and let them go on down the road.

            We could arrest for No Insurance, but I sure don't want to get tied up booking a person in on a traffic offense unless its POP.


            • #7
              Because of the liablity, here it's usually ticket the operator and tow the vehicle. Many times people simply register (2 yr reg) the vehicle using the 60 day temp ins card and never maintain a valid policy. DMV then suspends the reg.
              IF NCIC shows Cancelled/Ins, there's a $50.00 bounty on the plates. The plates are seized and returned to the DMV.

              Sec. 14-213 Failure of the operator to produce an insurance identification card as required by section 14-217 shall constitute prima facie evidence that the owner has not maintained the security required by section 38a-371 and this section.
              (b) Any person convicted of violating any provision of subsection (a) of this section shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars nor more than one thousand dollars.

              Sec. 14-217. Operator to give name and address and show or surrender license, registration and insurance identification card when requested.


              • #8
                Ok, let me clarify a little.
                Lets say you stop them and they say, I'm sorry officer...I know I should have insurance...but I don't. Do you cite and release (which in KY is a $500 fine) or cite and tow the vehicle?
                Another situation, they say they have insurance and present an expired card. You call the company and they say the policy is cancelled.
                I'm also curious if anyone has ever let one go that was later involved in an accident. Were there any ramifications?


                • #9
                  Here lately I've been seeing a bunch of NO OL and NO Insurance citations - of course when I see them, it means the person is in jail.


                  • #10
                    In Saskatchewan, you get basic insurance ($1M liability, theft, damage) along with your registration, which is renewable 12 months from first registration or last renewal or change.

                    Operate Unregistered Motor Vehicle is a $540 (Canadian) fine, and we usually will have the vehicle impounded until they can provide proof of re-registration.

                    Given the high fine, I am reluctant to issue such a ticket, but it depends on the situation. A lot of people are in the "D'oh!" category, ie: I stop them and it is less than a week since their validation tags expired. Sometimes I will just tell them to park the car and get new tags, or even write them for Fail To Display Current Validation Tags ($100 fine I believe).

                    If it is someone that I continually have contact with due to non-intelligent driving habits, then I am more than happy to call the next tow truck in the rotation!


                    • #11
                      In Ontario the basic insurance is as Peter has mentioned $1M liability licence plates are renewable yearly on the registered owners birthdate..If driver doesnt have insurance slip its a $70 fine (no time to produce..either you have it or yu dont)(for you guys that investigate TA's dont you just Hate having to wait for the info before doing the report..) if plate is expired...$110.. IF your vehicle is UNINSURED...that will be a $5000. fine for the first conviction,,it doubles every time thereafter..I really have no tolerance here,, I am required to have it. and I am required to be licenced...If not I can be charged at work under the police act for discredable conduct...If I have to, They have to...Re. the insurance..if you get hit and injured by an uninsured driver...your insurance pays to help you, but next year on the renewal date. they begin the charge back system...sooner or later they get their monney..from someone---U! So why go easy on it..


                      • #12
                        Originally posted by dc298:

                        Shouldn't that be dilligaf? [Wink]


                        • #13
                          In the UK there is no requirement at all to carry any driving documents with you. That said you do not need any reason to stop a driver and require them to produce their driving licence, insurance and if the car is more than 3 years old their test certificate.

                          If they cannot produce their documents then they commit an offence there and then. However you have to give them a form requiring them to produce their documents within 7 clear days, commencing at midnight on the date of issue, at a police station of their choice. If they produce that is the end of the matter. If they don't you have to submit a prosecution file and the driver gets summonsed to court.

                          Most but not all insurance companies provide details of insured drivers to the police, which can be checked on the national computer which can help.

                          If you believe a driver is giving false details then you can arrest them. The only way you could have their car towed would be if you believed it was stolen or was evidence in relation to another offence or it was seriously un-roadworthy. So the fact is we have thousands of people driving on our roads without a licence or other documentation.



                          • #14
                            IF you have a little extra time on your hands call the insurance company that they say they are covered by.

                            Our officers carry a list of 1-800 numbers to insurance companies and call them from the squad phones or have me call.

                            "Hi this is Gina from PD, I'm calling to verify insurance on a vehicle before I release it." They are usually helpful.

                            If people can't provide proof, ask what company, if they don't know, then I am sorta sarcastic, "So, you pay your bill every month?" They say yeah, and I ask how long they have had insurance on the vehicle. Normally its a long period of time. Then I start getting bitchy, "And you don't know what company you write the check to?"

                            Then I keep their car. teeheehee


                            • #15
                              The drivers are required to have the documents in the car whenever its on the highway and must produce them on demand of a police officer..We do not need a reason(an offence committed) in order to stop a vehicle. The law states the driver must produce dr lic permit and insurance on demand..We can stop just to check and see the documents..That doesnt happen that much, but its legal.. Apparently the minstry is going to be interfacing with an insurance webbase and all the insurance information will be available online and updated every day..
                              Yes, it should read dilligaf, I think I need to have my eyeballs cleaned..


                              MR300x250 Tablet


                              What's Going On


                              There are currently 13478 users online. 480 members and 12998 guests.

                              Most users ever online was 19,482 at 12:44 PM on 09-29-2011.

                              Welcome Ad