Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

(California) Advice on my car situation?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• (California) Advice on my car situation?

Hello,

My name is Joey. I am a Pro Am Drift driver and recently I was forced to sell my truck and trailer for financial reasons.

As of right now, I am a full time student and drift for recreation and as a side job for my sponsors.

To jump into my question, the only way for me to drive to the track (willowsprings/adams/etc) is to unfortunately drive my track race car.

(I don't street race or do any of that stupid front wheel drive honda crap)

I used to drive it on the street a year and a half ago and once I jumped to pro am, I got a trailer. I know its illegal, but my car is my life basically.

Its the only way at the moment to get a solid budget so I can pay my bills with my schedule.

Basically, I own a nissan 240sx s14. It has a sr20det turbo engine in it, full roll cage, bucket seats, harnesses, gauges everywhere blah blah etc.

My exhaust makes close to no noise (I can't stand a loud exhaust after driving with one for years) I don't drive like an idiot. When I did drive this car I was in the slow lane at 65-70 the whole time, seriously.

My car does pass smog, and has all working lights,blinkers, etc.

Basically, I want to know what your opinion is on me having to drive it on the street/highway.

The only times I will have to drive it, is when I am going to the track and back.

I have friends who have driven their track cars for years with no problems with law enforcement but I also have other friends who have gotten reffed for their engines.

I have a race in about a month and I am contemplating about driving there or not.

Any words of advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time and making out communities safer.

Cliffnotes:

Guy sells trailer
    forced to drive track car in public