300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Journey to Becoming a Police Detective

I am currently an elementary education major with a minor in spanish. Lately though, I have been assessing my future decisions and have found that I did not thoroughly think them through before I started college. I have come to realize that teaching is not my calling... and I'm taking action now opposed to waiting until it's too late. I am a sophomore in college and am now wanting to leave elementary education and pursue a career of police detective work. I'm in search of any information about what the job is like from someone who actually works in that environment every day... instead of trying to decipher job descriptions from googled websites. Some questions i have are..

-What is a good college major to have with this career in mind?
    -What are the pros and cons to the job?
    -What is a typical day like?
    -What is family life like? (I understand divorce rate is very high)
    -What all needs to be done to reach the detective level?

Thank you!!

First, there's no need to switch majors. Staying as an education major will give you something to fall back on should you eventually change your mind and decide law enforcement isn't for you. Getting a degree in something like criminal justice will give you nothing of the sort.

Secondly, you can't just show up and become a detective. In my department the average officer spends nearly ten years on the street before they get promoted to detective. If you have no desire to be a street cop, police work is not for you. There are good street cops out there who don't necessarily become good detectives, but I've yet to see a decent detective who wasn't a good street cop too. You have to put in your time and succeed on patrol before you even have a chance at a detective slot.