300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Did I offend an officer?

I graduated from the academy in July, and about a month later I got a "fix it ticket" from a local sheriff for mudflap on my truck. No big deal, I understand why I got it and I deserved it. I read up on the V.C. that I was cited on and built mud flaps on my truck to meet the requirements. I had to take it down to the CHP inspection station to have it checked off, and the officer came out and looked at it and declared I didn't meet the requirements. He started to quote me specific numbers such as how many inches past the lip of the tire and and what percentage of the tire must be covered. I told him I didn't want to be argumentative but I would like an opportunity to plead my case with him. He smirked and said... give it a try kid. So I pulled out my V.C from my truck and opened it to the code I had been cited on and showed him that my flaps met the requirement and the numbers he had quoted did not even exist in the code. He got flustered and said I knew nothing and had no business trying to "school" him about his "bible". I remained very respectful and polite the whole time. I went home and talked to a friend who is a local sheriff and he came over and inspected my truck and promptly signed off on my ticket. I feel kind of bad like I shouldn't have even tried to plead my case with the chp. Do you guys think I was out of line? The guys was really nice except for our disagreement and I would hate to think that I offended an officer that I may one day have to work alongside.

Who cares? He's probably some jerk that got stuck at an inspection station and is now mad at the world and exercising his "authority." Then again, he may have been having a bad day. I don't know. I just wouldn't let it bother you.