Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ADVICE NEEDED: Firefighter thinking of switching to Police

Dear Law Enforcement Officers and Non-LEOs who wish to help,

How are you? My name is Greg. A little background on me: I'm 25 years old, currently residing in Broward County, Florida. I'm 5'9, very fit and athletic, a caring and compassionate person. I'm college educated with a BA degree in English from the University of Central Florida.

I have a simple question, but with a long explanation.

Throughout my life, I have been interested in public service. Typically, throughout my childhood I envisioned (daydreamed) of myself as a crimefighter. When I was in college at UCF (2002-2006), I majored in English because I enjoyed writing stories about heroes, law enforcement officers, etc. However, very soon into my undergraduate course work, I realized I wanted to go into public service and not merely write about it. Not wanting to switch majors and prolong college for 1 or 2 additional years, I continued my English major and added a minor in Criminal Justice to my workload. I really liked it. I found it all incredibly interesting and enjoyed my minor classes more than my major classes. When I did ride-times with the local police department, I found the job to be exciting, interesting, and varied (even the mundane, slow parts, like report writing, didn't bother me - I was an English major, after all, and used to writing 20 page research papers!) However, herein lied my problem: I was a very quiet guy, ultra-nice, meek, and not very assertive. When I graduated college, I decided to go into Fire/Rescue instead because I knew I wanted to help people, serve the public, and I was willing on trading my interest in law, ethics, criminality, for firefighting/paramedic knowledge. Hell, I even had a life-long interest in learning martial arts/fighting, but I put that on the backburner as well, even though I was into working out/being athletic. All in all, I felt I just did