300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do you have to be a cop to fly the cop chopper

I am a commercial pilot flying planes currently, but I`ve always thought it`d be cool to fly helicopters for the police. Do you need to go through the same training as police officers or do you just have to be a pilot.

Last edited by BaldOldWhiteGuy; 10-21-2009, 02:43 PM.
    Lighten up Francis!

Comment

thanks for the great feedback. in Ontario, Canada where I'm from; we have provincial police planes as well to catch speeders...it's pretty awesome

Comment

You do for the CHP, the LAPD and LASD. I know a few agencies that hire civilians as pilots; but, the flight officer/observer is an officer. Also, most flight crews are EMT/rescue certified in my area.
        Last edited by SgtCHP; 10-17-2009, 01:24 PM.
        Be courteous to all, but intimate with few, and let those few be well tried before you give them your confidence!

[George Washington (1732 - 1799)]

Comment

The Alabama Department of Public Safety has both fixed wing and rotary aircraft. All of the pilots are Troopers.

Comment

Port Authority of NY & NJ have civilian helicoptor pilots.
            We ride for those who died!

RIP SgtCHP!

Comment

Ideally, the pilot is an officer. Officer first, pilot second. The aircrew has to have been there on the ground to know what patrol needs when they are handling a perimeter, search, pursuit, etc. It can work sometimes to have a nonsworn pilot, but there is no possible way to make it work properly to have an observer who has not been a patrol officer.
              Government is not the solution to our problem; government is the problem. - Ronald Reagan

I don't think It'll happen in the US because we don't trust our government. We are a country of skeptics, raised by skeptics, founded by skeptics. - Amaroq

Comment