Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for after College

Hello everyone,

I need some advice for when I graduate in May 2010 from people who are in the LE industry. I am lucky to have options for this important time in my life but because of these options I am at a loss for what should be the best course of action.

I will be graduating in May 2010 with a B.S. in Public Accounting. I have over 2 years work experience with a large accounting firm in NYC while I have been attending school. I have also held another job on campus to help pay for college.

Now that I am graduating I need to know what my next steps should be...

I have an offer with this large accounting firm for May 2010 but I really want to get into law enforcement. Here are my list of options (and some reasoning behind them). Should I....

a) Take this job with said firm.
    - Lots of money
    - Great experience
    - But worried about "golden handcuffs" and not being able to leave due to financial constraints.

b) Go to graduate school and earn my Certified Public Accounting certification (CPA) and apply for an LEO position after grad programs (minimum of 2 years, so would not be able to become a cop until 2012)?
    - More Loans
    - More degrees is always better
    - CPA allows me to start a Tax business on the side if wanted
    - Long wait to become an officer
    - Unhappy with what I am doing now as far as work

c) Apply with some agencies that are excepting applications for a May 2010 class.
    - Start my dream job now (if I get accepted to the academy)
    - Close to where I grew up (2 hour drive)
    - Great departments
    - Opportunity for growth within the department
    - Pay is adequate for myself and my girlfriends needs.

If anyone has advice I would be really grateful. Thanks for all of the past input.

- WombatJustice
    Last edited by WombatJustice; 10-13-2009, 08:39 PM.