300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Job chances in small town vs large city

I was curious what you guys thought about job odds applying to a larger city department, or small town departments? Part of me thinks big city = more job opportunities, thus better odds if you apply. Then again, they may get a larger pool of applicants, and it's a wash. A small town maybe only gets a handful of applicants, but perhaps a quiet little town is a desirable location, and maybe has more experience officers hoping to get something a bit more low key? Then of course there is county and state level jobs to consider...

I have a four year psych degree, and so far have applied to a couple of each, with no luck so far. I don't have state board certification for a LE job, perhaps that is holding me back? (Perhaps that's the most obvious statement ever made?) However I thought that was something you could get after a job offer, want ads can be surprisingly vague about that. Any insight would be appreciated.

In MN you cannot become a peace officer without being "eligible to be licensed". In other words you need the certification or you stand NO CHANCE.

Comment

Many states don't require you to have the certification prior to being hired, but it is very difficult to get an agency to pay to train you. If you are in a state that you can put yourself through an academy and most of the agencies in your area won't put you through, you should be wary of the one agency that will pay you to go to the academy. In my experience the agency that is willing to put you through, when most other local agencies won't, is having severe management problems.
      But when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same object, evinces a design to reduce them under absolute Despotism, it is their right, it is their duty, to throw off such Government, and to provide new guards for their future security.