Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Depression/Anxiety/Mild Bi Polar.

Hello,

I was wondering whether or not someone with Moderate Depression with anxiety, plus mild bi-polar - no manic, just the mild mood cycling can still be a cop? I had a kid (H.S. student), who is interested in being a cop ask me this (I'm a school teacher), and I wasn't sure what to tell him. My gut reaction is no, but if they're properly medicated, I don't see why they couldn't function as well as a non mental illness person. However, should they come off their meds, that could be an issue.

Also, can this type of person posess a handgun?

Thanks!

Is this really an honest question or are you trying to pull our chain? Law enforcement has a high enough suicide rate (although I do believe it is behind teachers... go figure), and that's with mentally intact people... the last thing your student needs to do is become a cop.

Comment

After reading your former posts, let me change this to say the last thing your "student" or your "friend" needs is to become a cop.

Comment

No, this isn't my friend, lol - that's a whole different issue. He gave up on the cop thing, and is now selling insurance....

This was seriously a H.S. student that asked me this question. I wasn't sure how to nicely put it, but I didn't want to tell him to seek another career when there was still a chance that he could be a cop providing that he was properly medicated.

Anyway, thanks for your responses...

Comment

Originally posted by JLH81 View Post
          Hello,