300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deer Country officers/deputies

Do any of you have giant bumper guards on your patrol cars?

No. Never hit a deer, but we did have a deer T-bone the side of a relatively new cruiser! Doh!
    Steve

Comment

No deer bumpers here. I've nailed quite a few with my truck, never the Troop car though. (knock on wood)
      I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

Deer are everywhere here. I live in the suburbs a mile from the ocean (can see it as I type this) and there are deer that pretty much live right next to our house. They are in our driveway eating the landscaping every night.

They're even more numerous in the mountains here. When I worked that beat, I once had a stretch where I came within 10 yards of hitting deer every shift for three or four months.

There is an endless food supply and no hunting pressure at all here. No public lands for hunting and it is extremely rare for a property owner to allow hunting, and even then it has to be archery. I wouldn't take any of the deer here at my house - it just wouldn't be sporting to get a buck without even leaving the lounge chair on the deck. The coastal blacktails are small, too. A typical buck only has four points and is probably no more than 140 pounds.
        Government is not the solution to our problem; government is the problem. - Ronald Reagan

I don't think It'll happen in the US because we don't trust our government. We are a country of skeptics, raised by skeptics, founded by skeptics. - Amaroq

Comment

Nope. I've had 3 deer hit me over the last 9 years. All 3 ran into the side of my vehicle as I drove by. One broken mirror, one broken running light, and no killed deer. All 3 got up and ran away.

Comment