300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Health Issue. Should it be a problem?

I am a criminal justice major student in college working my way to becoming a state trooper in New Jersey. I am 20 years old. At a younger age I was dignosed with Crohn's Disease and ulcerative colitis. I take meds for it and will be for the rest of my life. It hasnt effected me in the past with work or exercise or anything unless i dont take my meds daily. My question is will this be a problem when it comes to the health test when applying for a position in LE?

I can't say for sure, but if David Garrard can play PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL with Crohn's Disease and Ulcerative Colitis, I don't think you'll have a problem being a police officer.

Comment

Fernando Pisani of the Oilers NHL team has it as well and he rocks out. I didnt think so, but what do I know? Thanks for your input tho!

Comment

I've worked with 3 Deps with CD. They had to take time off and it was pretty bad for all of them. There are stressors that come into play that NHL/NFL guys don't have that will effect you.

You need to discuss it with your MD, make sure they understand what the job will entail, not just m-f, 8-5 easy work.
        Free Deke O'Mally!!!

Comment

Yeah I do understand what the job entails and that sort of thing, and I'm ready for it all. Yeah sometimes it kicks your *** but as long as you stay on top of it just like you would your work it'll all be fine. But I will deff take it up with my doctor. Thank you!

Comment

One of my coworkers has Crohn's but it was diagnosed after he'd been on the job for several years. Check your state's medical standards. Here in WA, ulcerative colitis is a disqualifying condition.

Comment

Originally posted by Quinn58 View Post