300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exchange Program

I heard a while back that some larger coastal agencies had exchange programs in which they would take officers from smaller agencies (prim. midwest) and bring them out to their turf. I heard of this being done in the mid 90's with the LAPD. This seems like an excellent training opportunity. Does anyone know an agency that still has an exchange program in place? Feel free to post or PM. Thanks in advance

*bump*
    I should mention that I am a sworn officer, and maybe this should have been posted in the training thread.

Comment

I think you are refering to the "Beverly Hills Cop" program.

There is a documentary by the same name available for rent...

M-11
      “All men dream...... But not equally..
      Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it is vanity;
      but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men,
      for they act their dreams with open eyes to make it possible.....”

TE Lawrence

Comment

Happens all the time! Officers from western states also work at NYPD. (I saw it on TV.)
        "I'm not fluent in the language of violence, but I know enough to get around in places where it's spoken."

Comment

You guys are harsh.

Comment

The only exchange program I'm familiar with is for foreign officers. We go to their country to learn their language and they come here to learn both language and techniques. Its not exactly an exchange, though, since neither officer retains his sworn status in the foreign country. More like a ride-along.
            I miss you, Dave.
            http://www.odmp.org/officer/20669-of...david-s.-moore

Comment

I kow that my departement wouldn't pay me to play in LA. I have not heard of such a program.
              I have the heart of a child..................................No really, it is in a jar on my desk.

Comment

I've worked in LA for over 20 years......never heard of it......