300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Background Investigations

Hey everybody. First off, for the purpose of anonymity, I am not going to disclose the name of the agencies involved. Before I begin, this is my brief background: I possess a bachelor's degree, some graduate work, I am a military veteran and retiree, and do not have so much as a parking violation, although I had a few problems as a minor (15 years ago)

So I have been in the hiring process for several different agencies (more than a dozen in western Washington) and I thought the background interview was going to be like any other interview. Well, I was extremely nervous, just as I was in every oral board (the panel interview) that I had been to. However, I was not expecting to be treated hostilely from the moment I walked in the room. During the course of the interview, I perceived his demeanor to be teetering on the edge of belligerent and was definitely unprofessional.

At one point, the investigator asked me about an arrest when I was a minor (a misdemeanor that was thrown out of court). I gave him all the details that I could remember, as the incident occurred nearly 15 years ago. I told him that (honestly) I didn't remember all of the details, but gave him the names and contact information (including those of both the arresting officer and the judge that presided over the case). After asking the same question several times, I once again answered, then told him that I wasn't lying about anything he asked and to please refer to the individuals I cited for him if he needed more information. He was the one who brought up contacting people in the first place. But for some reason, that just wasn't good enough. Then he told me that my written information was incomplete, because three of my references did not have email addresses... Not my fault if some people haven't evolved into the information age.