Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Expectation vs Reality of LEO Career

Ladies and Gentlemen,

As someone who enlisted in the Marine Corps when I was young and naieve, there was a gaping chasm between my expectation of what military life would be like (recruiting posters and commercials) and the reality of day-to-day life. I don't do "Marine Corps things;" for the most part, I'm a computer tech in uniform. As I separate from the Marine Corps, I'm interested in becoming an LEO.

As television shows and detective novels are my only vantage point into a law enforcement career, perhaps some of you veterans could shed some light on the realities of your job. I hear horror stories of stress (both personal and family), overtime, and office politics. These things don't worry me. I'd like to eventually become a Detective.

I know the situation is different at each department, but what does a Detective do on a daily basis? How often do you make arrests? Interview suspects? I'm trying to avoid maintaining a romanticized view of being a police officer, as I held Marines. I know there is more paperwork than pop culture depicts. I don't want a desk job; I want to hit the streets, interview people, be lied to, engage in foot chases, and all the other things for which I'm sure you all love your job. Is this an accurate overall picture of what the "average" LEO does for a living?

Any insight you have would be greatly appreciated. Also, if you would kindly include your years of experience as an LEO, that would be teriffic. If you feel uncomfortable posting your thoughts publicly, feel free to PM me. Thank you for your time.