300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• University SWAT Team

I am a police officer at a large university and because of recent events at our university I made a suggestion to my Chief during an in-service training about developing a SWAT team. To my surprise he agreed that this is something that he would like to look into and gave me the task of researching how to devise a team. Any advice?

Originally posted by Phlyy788 View Post
    I am a police officer at a large university and because of recent events at our university I made a suggestion to my Chief during an in-service training about developing a SWAT team. To my surprise he agreed that this is something that he would like to look into and gave me the task of researching how to devise a team. Any advice?
    Putting together a team is a pretty huge investment considering all the weapons, tools, and gear you have to get, not to mention the training. A better idea may be to call around to local (respected) teams, and see if they offer training to smaller departments. It's better to have everyone well trained in things like active shooter, than to have a group of 5 guys trained in everything from take downs to search warrants to hostage to everything else. Those five guys are great when they're there, but usually with the situations that are happening in schools you don't have the luxury of sitting around and waiting for them.

Comment

i agree. I work for a college as well and from previous incidents in the country the chief here decided to train everyone in active shooters, crazy take downs and so on. From our experience training wise it works out better because at least everyone is on the same page with the rifles and shotgun training and tactical ways of operating
      Alf

Comment

Contact a UPD that has a SWAT/ERT/RRT/etc and ask them for information. UNT has one in Denton Texas if its any help.
        Why do we try so Hard for Little things, and so Little for Hard things?