Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

College/Law Enforcement Question, Look !

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• College/Law Enforcement Question, Look !

Hello, my name is Michael Ruiz. I'm 17. I currently live in Orlando Florida. Im in my first year of college. I'm majoring Computer Science. What i'm planning on doing is, joining the Florida Highway Patrol.

Now, what i'm thinking of doing is 5 months before I get my AA in Computer Science, begin the application process & hopefully get accepted to attend the academy. Now if accepted, I plan to pass the academy & all the other needed tests and begin working for the Florida Highway Patrol.

Then while working for the Highway Patrol, take 1-2 classes to work my way towards my bachelors degree in computer science & using the tuition plan they offer.

Do you believe what i'm thinking of doing I can do? I still have a year & a half to figure this all out, im just trying to get some feedback & opinions from ya.

Also, your wondering why i'm majoring in computer science? Well its a great degree to have, especially since now, we use computers for almost everything. Having knowledge with computers I think is a great benefit to any trooper/officer. Especially if in the future, they plan to go federal, which I am considering, but not in a rush to decide.

Also, I know the risks, I know the pay involved with this career. Im not joining Law Enforcement to get rich, but to do something that I love, and enjoy. I am really deeply serious about getting myself into this career.
    Last edited by mruiz46; 09-09-2008, 11:34 PM.

Actually at 17, that seems like a good plan to me. The only thing I see is possible scheduling conflicts when you are hired. I dont know FHP's schedule or workload. I know with the agency I work for, it is extremely difficult to attend school. It can be done but very difficult with the way our schedule works.

Comment