Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help in florida

Hello all;
    I'm a Florida security officer looking for some LE advice relating to my post at an industrial complex.

First for some background:
    I'm presently working as a contract security officer working an afternoon 3:00-11:00 p.m. shift. We
    basically work a post with no "post orders" from our security company. Being a Florida licensed
    security officer (in Manatee County) requires me to protect people/property (and whatever else
    the client might want). We are working for only one of the (3) property tenants. We are posted
    at a front gate situation. Typically we have a "visitors log" we fill in for our tour of duty.

With that said here is what I'm looking for some help with:
    Some employees that work for our client company really are very disrespectful and are
    difficult to deal with. When they come to work some will ignore the stop sign and go and
    park. We are required to identify a client employee by a windshield "sticker" that is very
    difficult to see at the nighttime hours. The stop signs I'm told because they are on private
    property are illegal (unless they were installed by the County). I have talked with the
    property manager and I get no help/advice from him.

There was a time when I was asked to stop any employee that was leaving the complex
    before their assigned lunch time. I got the names of about 10 people; a couple were resisting
    giving their names; one individual tried to go around me I had to yell to stop him to stop. When I
    talked to that individual that tried to go around I could smell alcohol. Very frequently these same
    individuals "race" each other going out the gate to beat a traffic signal. It has become very frustrating.

What can I or can't I do with regards to the employees "running" the stop sign?
    I have reported similar incidents an have not gotten anything in the way of help.