300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I look like a cop...please help!

Hello everyone, I wasn't sure where to put this thread so here goes... I'm a SSG MP in the Army, did the whole Iraq/Afghanistan thing and I'm about to get out in a year to pursue a career as a sworn officer. The problem is, and it's not really a big deal, but everywhere I go, people think that I'm a cop. It doesn't matter what I'm wearing or where I'm at.

For instance, I'm in Miami beach on R&R leave, there's a homeless guy sitting on one of those newspaper vending machines. As soon as I get close to him, he jumps up, straightens himself out and says "I'm sorry, are you the Po-Lice?". Women ask me if I'm a cop all the time or tell me I remind them of a cop they know. It's even more pronounced when I go back to the neighborhood to visit relatives, the looks that I get are usually the ones reserved for the cops that patrol there. People say that I walk like I cop(didn't know that cops have a certain walk), but it's weird that strangers see this and I don't.

There was an article on this site a while back about guys walking around wearing badge shaped belt buckles and SWAT t-shirts, I don't do any of that, and I was wondering if any of you have experienced the whole "You look like a cop thing" in your personal lives?

Well, thanks for reading and stay safe out there.
    Troy

Originally posted by Mer_k View Post
    Hello everyone, I wasn't sure where to put this thread so here goes... I'm a SSG MP in the Army, did the whole Iraq/Afghanistan thing and I'm about to get out in a year to pursue a career as a sworn officer. The problem is, and it's not really a big deal, but everywhere I go, people think that I'm a cop. It doesn't matter what I'm wearing or where I'm at.