300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fire arms qualification question

Well I need to ask a question about Fire arms qualification. Here's a little story first .

I graduated the academy in May 20/2008 to be exact and I had to shoot an 80 to pass the state license exam at my academy . I had to shoot twice because I didn't qualify the first time. On the first attempt I scored a 79 then on my 2nd attempt I scored a 90%.

I just got hired as a police officer and today we are at the range doing our practice and practice qualifications on the range before we actually do our qualifying tomorrow morning. I scored a 79% today so I missed it by one point again.

So my question is have you ever not qualified the first round or did you have to shoot a second or 3rd time to make it finally?

I'm feeling really down because the range masters were devoting a lot of attention to me by helping me aim at the target positioning , loading the magazine in the same order every time. I'm very safe on the range no one is telling me I'm not . No accidental discharges or anything.

For some reason I keep hitting the side of the target and not the middle. If anyone doesn't mind please pray for me. Thanks.
    My life is in GOD’s hands, and he hasn’t finished with me yet.

Sounds like you need to practice. If you want to stay consistent you need to practice. Especially if you tend to not shoot well cold. There are several reasons why you might be patterning left most are grip and trigger problems. I'm not going to make an E-guess as to what it is. Get with a range instructor for some one on one instruction. Get it fixed then spend quality time at the range. Do this before you have to qualify. If they will let you run a practice qual before actual qual do it. In my agency you must qualify cold.