300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Police ?

Hello everyone I have a question about the shirts that say POLICE on them. A few people that know I have been hired as a police officer went and bought me shirts that say police on them and hats that say police as well.

My question is I don't know if I will feel comfortable advertising that I'm a cop. Should I wear these off duty ? What do you all think about wearing police T-shirts, caps off duty?

I am not ashamed of my job by any means but I'm just thinking officer safety issues.
    Last edited by rookie2006; 08-15-2008, 06:59 PM.
    My life is in GOD’s hands, and he hasn’t finished with me yet.

Well, first off... Your profile says you're not a cop so how could you be advertising that you are one?

Secondly... You can bet you wouldn't catch me dead wearing anything police related, unless I'm in full police uniform. Just think about it... "POLICE" emblazoned on a shirt or hat, or both, is a HUGE target.

Picture the headlines now:

Criminal Justice Student Wearing POLICE Shirt Killed During Robbery

Want that to be you???
    sigpic

Comment

My point of view and I mean nothing personal by it, but it would stupid to wear such items off-duty. The last thing you want to do is draw attention to yourself off-duty and make yourself a target for those who would do you harm regardless of if you are at work or off just because you are a cop. That's the main reason. For me, at three years in, when I am off, I am off. I need my break and don't want to wear anything which connects me to work.
      sigpic

Comment

Nevermind.....
        Last edited by wirefire2; 08-16-2008, 05:46 PM.

Comment

You dont EVER want to wear something that might ID you as being in Law Enforcement when you are off duty.....