Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why Grappling Works (and others do not)

Okay....FIRST The title I chose was just to get people to click on the thread...sorry

Now...

I am a black belt it Korean TMA (traditional martial arts).
    I have 7 years of grappling experience (MMA, BJJ)

I have be in LEO for only two years.

Now to my point and explanation fo the thread title.

It comes down to VERY VERY VERY SIMPLE logic.

Why are grappling arts (wrestling, jiujitsu, judo --I'll call these "G.A." for short) waaaaay more effective?
    The same reason boxing/kickboxing is effective.

Training in G.A. and boxing are done at 100% - Live training. I am not talking about cardio Tae Bo type of kickboxing and boxing fads. You "go" 100% in G.A. and boxing. You condition your body and know EXACTLY what works and what does not because you are training at the same level as you would in a real competition match/fight.

Are there still rules......aaaaaaabsolutely. But to listen to a TMA guy say well....I'd just rip your throat out or bite you or eye gouge you. No...no you wouldn't. Why? Because the grappler is controling the fight and they too can bite, gouge, and rip.

TMA train moves and never ever ever train at 100%. They can't. There are not spare throats, ribs, faces in the back store room to replace. EVERY, and I mean EVERY TMA fight I have seen that goes 100% ends up on the ground!!! It's a gravity thing...its going to happen - and besides, for LEO, that is where you want them to be - on the ground to control them and minimize injury to subject and officer.

GA works best because you FEEL 100% power by the opponent on you and you FEEL 100% of your own power.

Of course this will not END the fued between MMA(G.A.) vs. TMA. And I realize there will even be people on here saying the reason their sensei is not in the UFC is because he is tooooo deadly....whatever bro.