300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hand Strength in female "shooters"

Hi there. I am starting my academy soon and have a couple of questions pertaining to the firearms portion. I have no experience shooting a handgun, but I do know that women may have issues at the range due to a lack of hand and wrist strength...not sure if this will be a big issue for me, but could any of you recommend ways I could improve this on my own prior to heading to the range? I do know that a hand spring may help, how often and is there anything else? Thanks Smudge
    ....Remember that courage and strength are naught without prudence, and that a momentary negligence may destroy the happiness of a lifetime. Do nothing in haste,look well to each step, and from the beginning think what may be the end. -E. Whymper

Wrist training

Originally posted by SMUDGE
    Hi there. I am starting my academy soon and have a couple of questions pertaining to the firearms portion. I have no experience shooting a handgun, but I do know that women may have issues at the range due to a lack of hand and wrist strength...not sure if this will be a big issue for me, but could any of you recommend ways I could improve this on my own prior to heading to the range? I do know that a hand spring may help, how often and is there anything else? Thanks Smudge
    Lots of luck at the Academy!

In my experience (12+ years as an instructor) I found some interesting things
    out about new Female shooters. I may take some heat on this but...

First and foremost is that females are generally more afraid of handguns. This is good because believe it or not it makes them pay closer attention to the instructor, and this in turn makes them initially superior shots to men who shoot for the first time.