Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

For the Veteran Trainers/Instructors.....

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• For the Veteran Trainers/Instructors.....

I'm an officer with seven years on the job and will be going to Instructor Development in October. I'm already a STOPS and SFST instructor (which does not require you to be instructor certified) and have hopes of becoming a Defensive Tactics instructor after I've become certified. My question to the vet instructors is this, what do you see as being a valuable area to specialize in that would be useful after retirement?
    Why are there so many babies on O.com? Creole, you and your buddy JPSO Recruit help me out on this one....

* "Preach always, if necessary, use words!" St Francis of Assisi

* Luke Chapter 6, Verses 27-36

It does not matter what it is, as long as you are very good at it. My friend teaches about gangs and travels around the nation. I teach about fraudulent documents, identifications and Resident Alien cards. I am already scheduled to teach at two conferences this year and I have received calls from other states requesting training.
    "You are always just one bad decision away from unemployment, prison or death."

"My profession dictates that I routinely confront the people that the average citizen fearfully crosses the street to avoid. Then I must endure the criticism of that citizen as he judges my actions from afar."

www.speforums.com

Comment

It's funny because I was thinking along these lines at work the other day. Another just recently retired Deputy I worked with passed away within months of leaving the job.

It seems to happen a lot. As if the job sucks all the life out of them, or perhaps they feel lost and have no sense of worth without it. Not sure why, but I've seen a lot of seemingly health people go very quickly after hanging them up.