300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to improve my qualification scores

I am currently a police officer on the east coast. My question is regarding our qualification course at 25 yards. We qualify at least twice a year. Our qualification consists of 60 shots, 18 of which are from the 25 yard line (6 from a barricade standing on strong side, 6 kneeling from the strong side and 6 from the barricade on the weak side). In my department it used to be you would get a few warm up rounds before qualifying OR qualify at the end of the day. After warming up I DID fine. For the past year our dept has decided that we will qualify cold turkey (and we start at the 25 yard line). My problem has always been at the twenty five yard line, from the standing position but ESPECIALLY from the kneeling position. It seems at least 6 or 7 shots are totally off the target (I am pretty most of them are from the kneeling position) and probably 6 or 7 more are on the paper but not on the actual silouette). I was informed that dry firing would help, but it hasn't helped at 25 yards. I started going to the range to practice, but if I have any bad habits I am just reinforcing them. From 15 yards I do just fine when I practice but at 25 yards is when the problems occurred (the shots at this distance peppered the target and a few were M.I.A.). I am qualifying again this month. If anyone has any pointers I would gladly appreciate it.
    Last edited by kinghaas; 07-01-2005, 11:06 PM.

Quit focusing on the target and focus on your sights. You also need to get to the range more often. Try to have fun with it, maybe go out in the country and shoot cans.
    "Respect for religion must be reestablished. Public debt should be reduced. The arrogance of public officials must be curtailed. Assistance to foreign lands must be stopped or we shall bankrupt ourselves. The people should be forced to work and not depend on government for subsistence." - Cicero, 60 B.C.