300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California POST academies

Hello, I have a question about the academies throughout the state. I'm a military veteran/Marine and would like to put myself through the POST academy. I have service related knee injuries and would like to find an academy that doesn't run recruits/cadets to death. I'm not looking for the easiest route, just one that would give me the greatest opportunity of completion without further damaging my knees. I currently run a 8:31 mile and 13:46 mile and half. I can pass any department PAT but am uncertain if my knees will hold up for daily distance runs through academy. Any comments or information will be greatly appreciated. I just want to continue to serve my community and fulfill my dream of being a police officer.

Food For Thought

Putting yourself through an academy is not only time consuming, but expensive. Before doing so, you may want to check and see if your knee injuries are such that they would disqualify you from employment with most California agencies.

Print out http://lib.post.ca.gov/Publications/Musculo.pdf These are California’s ortho standards for law enforcement applicants.

Take them to your ortho physician and have him review them. Then ask him to imagine that he is the police department’s doctor, who is being paid to represent their interests and not yours. Knowing what he does about your medical condition, ask him if he would pass or disqualify you based on those standards.

That will give you an idea of whether you may be tossing money down the drain by putting yourself through an academy with knee problems.
    Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Thanks. I have been through the hiring process before and have passed the medical physical. I'm just wanting assurance for myself to choose the right academy.

Comment