300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for Firearms Training in the New York Area

Hi to everyone out there. I'm a new PO and I am trying to find some good firearms training courses either in NY or the surrounding states. Hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Thanks.

What do you mean a new PO?
    New York City Department of Correction and US Army. 🇺🇸

Comment

Google courses. NRA and MDT gives some at the range in Nassau. Freeport Range holds IDPA matches.

Comment

I'm an NRA Instructor, basic pistol, inside the home, outside the home basic and then oth advanced. I also train officers with a F.A.T.S system, I do private groups, 1 on 1 and what not.. indsim.com, but your looking at about 5 days for all the above and it tends to get a bit pricey..

Comment

If you're trying to find an actual training facility or individual, make sure you do research before hand, and make sure they have their credentials. There are a LOT of people out there teaching courses, not all of them should be...

You could also get into competitive shooting, it's a lot of fun and really helps develop your skills. I personally shoot USPSA (B-Class Single Stack), but there's also IDPA, 3-Gun, and more.

Go to the main USPSA website (just google it) and then click on find clubs, and type in your zip-code, you'll be able to view any clubs around your area. You can do the same for IDPA and 3-Gun.

Comment

+1

Spend as much time doing research as the length of the class/course your going to take or more! If practical, go visit the facility and person who will be conducting the training. Check references as well, when anyone asks me for references, I have both private and gov't agencies/personnel contact info on a word document. I encourage people to call, a good instructor will be eager to have you talk to others who have taken courses or trained with them!

Comment