300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Field Training Officers Thread

Ok I think this will be a thread for new FTOs to ask questions, give examples, or ask for help. I started training myself when I was only off of training myself for two months and never went to a FTO class and wish I would have had something then. Because honsetly my first trainee was the most jacked up and would have tried to get him let go and I had the captain that would have done it. He was jacked up then and years later he is still jacked up. After 8 training trainees across 8 different training cycles I am more experianced and wiser.

So all of you that are just starting to train or run across a situation that need assitance let us know and I am sure there are some of us with experiance or who have run across the same thing that can help you.

Also to all the FTOs out there lets share some stories of how jacked up our old trainees use to or still are fouled things up.

You may have had a better experience had you not been a rookie yourself, training another rookie. But some rookies are just bricks, and will continue to be until they get fired or retire (or promoted). In order to be an FTO in my department you have to be off of probation for a year, have no open IA cases, be nominated by a supervisor, interview, then be accepted and complete FTO school (1 really boring week).

I was really lucky, as I have heard and seen the horror stories. I trained 5, 4 were real squared away, 1 wasn't bad, he just wasn't very aggressive. I am on a specialized unit now so I do not train anymore but I must say that it was rewarding and frustrating at the same time.