Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First day down, 4 - 6 weeks to go ....

Just reported this morning for my first day of K-9 training. Rocky start.... dog wasn't as impressed with me as i was with him, as was evident by his trying to remove at least one perfectly good digit.

I'm a first time handler, other than a few months training with some military dogs a few years ago while on active duty, i have no experience. My dept just started up the K-9 program again, after not having one for about 4 or 5 years. I am constantly reminded that me and my mali will set the bar, meaning if i don't do good with the dog after we hit the road, chances are the county will not front the bill for the next 3.

The dog is a 18 month old Mali, extreme high drive, traind in aggression, narcotic, tracking and article search. Very work oriented, and energetic. I've got my hands full, and hoping that my family doen't end up being the ones who suffer from this decision due to time spent training and working the dog for the next 8 or so years.

Honestly, after all that, i guess i'm just looking for words of encouragement. Anybody else have any success stories after initially 2nd guessing their decision ? Maybe it's just home sickness and missing my 1 yr old, but i'm really hoping this wasn't a bad decision for my family.
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country. He won it by making the other poor dumb bastard die for his country. GEN. George S. Patton

Courage is fear holding on a minute longer.
    Gen George S. Patton

Perhaps I'm not understanding your initial post. You say the dog is already trained in tracking and narcotics, yet you're in school for 4-6 weeks. What are you looking to accomplish in this time period?

Comment