Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Building program from ground up - Grant info?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building program from ground up - Grant info?

Hello,
    I have now moved from Indiana to Alaska where I have received my offer of employment with the Hoonah Police Department, until my swearing in date I have been assigned by the Chief of Police the task of locating grants for and building a new K9 program from the ground up. This is my first attempt at such a task and I am not above asking for the guidance and assistance of those who have been here before! We are a small department battling a major narcotics problem, unfortunately we are also on a pretty tight budget and any/all grants that we can find and apply for could be the difference in whether or not this program gets off the ground.

I have tried to negotiate the Homeland Security, Office of Justice, National Criminal Justice Resource, and US Customs & Border Patrol websites for grant information with little luck as far as grants that are applied to Canine programs... However this could be due to my own lack of experience navigating these sites. I have also began to look through Grants.gov and Daddac.com.

Another avenue that I am looking at pursuing is trying to contact MWD Programs here in Alaska, as well as out of state, for possible programs that work with LE Agencies looking for Canines. I have heard great things about the Lackland AFB Program and will be looking into that if I don't find a program here in-state to work with.

I was hoping that those of you who obviously have been there/done that could assist in guiding me to the correct government offices / people / private organizations that can assist in funding for a K9 and/or handler certification.

We are hoping to obtain at least one dual purpose K9 at this time.

Any other information or advice would be greatly appreciated.