300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• survived a shooting with my vest on

I am looking find any other officers that are shooting survivors.

I am an officer in Artesia, NM

On April 1st 2007, I was involved in a shooting with a possible gang memeber, I was struck once in the chest area and survived because I was wearing my vest.

I am just looking to see if there are any other officers out there that were in my position and to see how they handled the fear from family on going back to work.

Originally posted by sdd241

On April 1st 2007, I was involved in a shooting with a possible gang memeber, I was struck once in the chest area and survived because I was wearing my vest.
    Excellent, glad you're still with us, to share your experience

pyxie survived a pretty serious GSW to the arm. Here's a link to the thread she started:

http://forums.officer.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63063

Two questions, 1) what happened to your shooter, 2) will you be getting a free replacement vest from the body armor manufacture?
    "Think like a man of action, act like a man of thought" ~Henri Louis Bergson

ComptonPOLICEGANGS.com

Comment

Glad you're OK. You might contact Concerns of Police Survivers. I'm sure they can put you in contact with officers who have survived OIS's.

On a lighter note, that must be a heck of a commute from Berks County to Artesia. I hope you're on a compressed work schedule.
      John from Maryland

Comment

I have actually moved out here to artesia.

I can say that the vest company has listed my name in their hall of fame of survivors. and yes they are giving me a new vest with no cost to the department.

Thank you all for the sites that you sent me. I am doing well.