300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bullet proof vests

boys i have a question for you.im a 10month rookie . my ballistic vest drives me crazy when i wear it. you veterans is their any way to kkep cool in one? i also hear alot about these second chance vests that go under the vest do they work?
    S/O E.J. Smith
    northern hospital of surry county

It's hard down here in the South where it's so humid. You're probably a little cooler up there I know (my mom's from Boone...couple of hours away I guess?) than here in Ga., but not by much I suspect. The only thing I can tell you is using talcum powder seems to help some, and alot of guys like Under Armour t-shirts & the knock-offs from Wal-Mart. I've also been known to bring an extra t-shirt to work & change halfway through the shift if there's time.

Comment

thanks for the info never thought of talk.
      S/O E.J. Smith

Comment

They also make shirts that are ribbed to keep a small pocket of air between you and the vest and it allows heat to escape. They are a bit expensive.

I tried the Under Armor under the vest, but I did not like it because I now felt like the vest was against my skin and the heat still could not escape.

Just keep wearing it, you'll get used to it. I am now uncomfortable without my vest. I feel like something is missing.

Remember, the vest will help to protect you from other things such as traffic crashes, punches and other fight related injuries, and even though they may not be rated for knives, a knife still has to penetrate the vest before it gets to you.

Good luck,

Sammy
        If I could keep one heart from breaking, I shall not live in vain. If I could ease one life the aching or cool one pain; or lift a fainting robin unto it's nest again, I shall not live in vain. Emily Dickinson
        www.samanthafund.com

Comment