300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• martial arts

I would like to know who has trained in martial arts and what styles you have trained in. I am highly considering starting Jiu Jitsu or Judo for further knowledge in survival techniques on the streets. I would also like to know encounters other officers have had with suspects and what your training helped you with either survive or give you the upper hand.

Thanks

I've been doing brazillian jiu jitsu for a few months now. You'll notice a rapid improvement pretty quickly if you stay dedicated, especially if you can do private or small group lessons. A lot of the takedowns are things you can do fully kitted up, even with a rifle.

However, I'd also suggest finding a gym that also does kickboxing/mma or the like, as there are some things in bjj that won't be applicable to you on the street, and you'll need the striking as well.

Most importantly though is to make sure you are going to a vetted gym. If it's not endorsed by the Gracies or another large national group, I'd stay away. Many places have jumped onto the "mma" bandwagon and tout themselves as bjj or mma professionals, and they'll teach you nothing but how to get yourself hurt. Similar to the lack of vetting for most martial arts in America, you'll need to do your homework.

Comment

+1 for mma/ bjj ... Judo is cool, but not always applicable. Plus how many times have you been hit in the face? Never? Once? It's very eye opening to spar and get popped in the nose. Good to know what you're going to do in a controlled environment. You don't have to compete and a good gym won't pressure you. But sparring and taking your licks is amazing for self confidence. Plus learning takedowns body positions/how to roll may save your life one day.

+100 for going to a vetted gym. Many big cities have UFC contract fighters in them. Easiest way to find out places to go, look them up see where they go.

Comment