300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Baton switch!

What do you all think is preferable, the Monadnock (MON-1102)
    Model PR-24FX 24" Aluminum Reinforced Epoxy Expandable Baton or the Monandock non-expand. 24" Aluminium baton (Both with side handles)? What are the LAPD mandated to use now?

Originally posted by Det.AllenPrice View Post
    What do you all think is preferable, the Monadnock (MON-1102)
    Model PR-24FX 24" Aluminum Reinforced Epoxy Expandable Baton or the Monandock non-expand. 24" Aluminium baton (Both with side handles)? What are the LAPD mandated to use now?
    Alll I know is that my Monandock baton DOES NOT lock 3/4 times I expand it. Junk
    I make my living on Irish welfare.

Comment

I have both. The expandable pr24 is neat, but it's not very good. It's much harder to lock out than a straight expandable. I either use the 26" autolock expandable, or my old school metal PR24.

Comment

In 8 years, i have never really had to use my expandable baton? Now that i read that, it does sound strange, but just haven't encountered a situation yet that would require the use?

Comment

Originally posted by reils49 View Post
          Alll I know is that my Monandock baton DOES NOT lock 3/4 times I expand it. Junk
          The Monadnock is the best expandable baton out there. What your experiencing is the bounce back when you flip it open with force. When this happens your forward swing to strike will lock it in mid stream. You'll hear it click as you swing.

I'll take that one minor flaw so that I know once it's locked it's staying locked until I dissengage it.

I had to carry the regular PR-24 for a while. Everyone was issued one and no one carried it because it was to big. Try running after someone with it and you'll hate it.

The engaging of an expandable baton has the same effect as the racking of a shotgun. It's the universal language that says something bad is about to happen