300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Did I need a complainant?

Another officer at our small department and I have been debating a recent situation. He says I was in the wrong and needed a complainant and I say I didn't. Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

Here's the situation:

Around 21:00 on a weeknight I was on patrol with windows open. Coming down a residential street with home spaced approximately every 50 yards or less, I heard very loud music (live drums and guitar, hard rock) and traced it to a home approximately 300-400 yards from where I originally heard it (440 yards in a quarter mile). Drawing on my professional experience in the late 80's as a car stereo installer I estimated the decibels at the origination point to be well in excess of 85db (approximately that of a vacuum cleaner on carpet) and quite possibly as high as 100 or more.

The home and driveway were surrounded by a fence containing two large and barking, but not necessarily aggressive, black labs. Alternating between siren and air horn I was able to get the homeowners attention and he walked out into the yard. I asked the man to come to the fence so we could talk and he did. I explained that I had heard his music from "around the corner and blocks away" and asked him to "turn the amps down". He asked who had complained or if anyone had complained and I told him that there had not been a complaint but that I had heard it firsthand. He stated that in 2.5 years nobody had ever complained and he didn't want to turn it down.