300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on officers getting laid off

The city near me has just announced a huge lay off plan involving everything within the city. (police/fire/public works/city hall positions) They are laying off 7 sworn police officers. Now this is just a general question, but will they lay off the 7 newest hired, or will they pick and choose, for example, an officer who plans to retire in a year, would they cut him? Hows that all work? Its a civil service agency. Im a new officer and not familiar with how the "getting laid off" process works. Im just concerned because I know a lot of the guys they recently hired. Im assuming they'll be safe, because they city spent so much money on training them very recently and they have good years ahead of them But who knows. If they cut a LT position, I assume that the LT would become a SGT. Its all new to me. Any info would be excellent.

Normally, lay offs are by seniority. So, the newest officers will be the first to get the axe. I suppose that they could try to negotiate with officers approaching retirement to make a deal to retire early, but that's up to the city.

Realize that any of my info is second hand stuff. I can't remember hearing of a police layoff in my area since I've been in LE. From what the older guys tell me, the last layoffs they can remember were in the early 80's.
    "He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster. And if you gaze for long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you."
    -Friedrich Nietzsche

Comment